Contact: library@seahec.net
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5-TR
by
DSM-5-TR® Clinical Cases
by
DSM-5-TR® Handbook of Differential Diagnosis
by
Guia de Consulta de Los Criterios Diagnosticos Del - DSM-5
by
The American Society of Addiction Medicine Handbook on Pain and Addiction
by
Assessment and Staging of Care for People with Dementia
by
Assessment and Staging of Care for Dementia: The IDEAL schedule and its user manual is a unique resource containing a global clinical staging schedule for dementia alongside essential, practical information on how to use it. The International Schedule for the Integrated Assessment and Staging of Care for Dementia (IDEAL) schedule assesses a patient's capacity to function in seven domains. These domains are 'activities of daily living', 'physical health', 'cognitive functioning', 'behavioural and psychological symptoms', 'social support', 'informal care', and 'formal professional care'. Each domain has a set of anchor points to assist with rating the different dimensions appropriately along with critical information on how to calculate the total sum score on the IDEAL schedule. In addition to the IDEAL schedule itself, this resource includes a glossary of key terms and guidance on recommended priorities for interventions for different symptoms and severity patterns. Global examples of how to apply the schedule based on different levels of resources and experience are also presented along with relatable case studies mapped directly to the schedule. Created by the International Dementia Alliance, this innovative tool and user manual is suitable for health care professionals with experience in the diagnosis and treatment of people with dementia around the world, as well as any of those involved in dementia care.
Disaster Psychiatry
by
It is becoming increasingly common for psychiatrists to be among the first responders when disaster strikes. More than 800 psychiatrists are believed to have responded to the 9/11 attacks. The first clinical manual on the best practices for helping those affected by disaster, Disaster Psychiatry: Readiness, Evaluation, and Treatment offers an explicit and practical discussion of the evidence base for recommendations for psychiatric evaluation and interventions for disaster survivors. Disaster is defined by the World Health Organization as a severe disruption, ecological and psychosocial, that greatly exceeds a community's capacity to cope. This manual takes an "all-hazards" approach to disasters and has application to natural occurrences such as earthquakes and hurricanes; accidental technological events such as airplane crashes; and willful human acts such as terrorism. The field of disaster psychiatry is more important than ever, in response to disasters such as the Deepwater Horizon oil spill in the Gulf of Mexico and the 2010 earthquake in Haiti. Today, disaster psychiatry encompasses a wide spectrum of clinical interests, ranging from public health preparations and early psychological interventions to psychiatric consultation to surgical units and psychotherapeutic interventions to alleviate stress in children and families after school shootings, hurricanes, or civil conflict. Although disaster mental health is still a young field, research is gradually yielding methods for accurately identifying valid relationships among preexisting risk factors, postdisaster mental health problems, and effective interventions. With its practical approach to readiness, response, and intervention and its focus on evidence-based recommendations for psychiatric evaluation and interventions, Disaster Psychiatry: Readiness, Evaluation, and Treatment is an invaluable manual for educator and student alike. The manual draws on a variety of sources, including the peer-reviewed scientific literature, the clinical wisdom imparted by front-line psychiatrists and other mental health professionals, and the experiences of those who have organized disaster mental health services, including the American Psychiatric Association and Disaster Psychiatry Outreach. Each chapter provides clear and concise information and in-depth review, followed by helpful study questions and answers. This book has been developed to give professionals the knowledge they need to respond swiftly and appropriately when disaster strikes.
Eliminating Race-Based Mental Health Disparities
by
Eliminating Race-Based Mental Health Disparities offers concrete guidelines and evidence-based best practices for addressing racial inequities and biases in clinical care. Perhaps there is no subject more challenging than the intricacies of race and racism in American culture. More and more, it has become clear that simply teaching facts about cultural differences between racial and ethnic groups is not adequate to achieve cultural competence in clinical care. One must also consider less "visible" constructs--including implicit bias, stereotypes, white privilege, intersectionality, and microaggressions--as potent drivers of behaviors and attitudes. In this edited volume, three leading experts in race, mental health, and contextual behavior science explore the urgent problem of racial inequities and biases, which often prevent people of color from seeking mental health services--leading to poor outcomes if and when they do receive treatment. In this much-needed resource, you'll find evidence-based recommendations for addressing problems at multiple levels, and best practices for compassionately and effectively helping clients across a range of cultural groups and settings. As more and more people gain access to services that have historically been unavailable to them, guidelines for cultural competence in clinical care are needed. Eliminating Race-Based Mental Health Disparities offers a comprehensive road map to help you address racial health disparities and improve treatment outcomes in your practice.
Essential Psychotherapies, Fourth Edition
by
Acclaimed for its clear writing and stellar contributors, this authoritative text is now in a revised and updated fourth edition. The book explains the history, assessment approach, techniques, and research base of each of the 12 most important psychotherapies practiced today, along with its foundational ideas about personality and psychological health and dysfunction. The consistent chapter format facilitates comparison among the various approaches. Every chapter includes engaging clinical vignettes and an extended case example that bring key concepts to life, as well as suggested resources for further learning. New to This Edition *Incorporates important developments in clinical practice and research. *Entirely new chapters on CBT, third-wave CBT, couple therapies, and interpersonal and brief psychodynamic therapies; all other chapters fully updated. *Increased attention to multiple dimensions of diversity, the evidence-based practice movement, psychotherapy integration, and applications to physical health care.
Fast Facts about PTSD
by
This is a concise, quick-access guide to the full continuum of care for all major health care professionals working with individuals suffering from PTSD. The most comprehensive book available about caring for this population, it encompasses the history of PTSD, its theoretical underpinnings, and complete instructions for conducting a full screening, assessment, and diagnosis for people with PTSD. Designed to facilitate speedy access to information, the guide consists of short paragraphs, bulleted information, and "Fast Facts in a Nutshell" boxes containing critical points. This book presents information about the scope of populations at risk for developing PTSD, from young victims of bullying to rape/sexual assault victims, and why they are at risk. It includes information for intervention with people of all ages and backgrounds, and includes abundant case scenarios depicting real-life situations. The book also provides important information about strategies for coping with PTSD and, when possible, prevention. Written for both students and practicing health care professionals, it includes everything RNs and APRNs need to be aware of when working with individuals or groups of people suffering from PTSD. Key Features: Delivers complete practice guidelines for frontline health care professionals who work with individuals with PTSDIncludes information on the scope of populations at risk for developing PTSD and why they are at riskProvides real-life case scenarios of individuals with PTSDCovers the practice continuum, offering guidance for intervening with people of different ages and situationsOffers objectives, case studies, and "Fast Facts in a Nutshell" boxes
Goodwin and Guze's Psychiatric Diagnosis, 7th ed.
by
Acclaimed for its thorough yet concise overview of the natural history of psychiatric disorders, Goodwin & Guze's Psychiatric Diagnosis has been newly and extensively updated in this seventh edition. As in previous editions, each chapter systematically covers the definition, historical background, epidemiology, clinical picture, natural history, complications, family studies, differential diagnosis, and clinical management of each disorder. Terminology has been updated for consistency with changes made in DSM-5®. Recent epidemiologic and neurobiological findings are provided, including the long term course of mood disorders, genetics and neuroimaging of schizophrenia and mood and other disorders, cognitive changes in relation to depression and dementia, brain stimulation techniques, outcome studies of eating disorders, and epidemiology of substance use disorders.
Gun Violence and Mental Illness
by
Perhaps never before has an objective, evidence-based review of the intersection between gun violence and mental illness been more sorely needed or more timely. Gun Violence and Mental Illness, written by a multidisciplinary roster of authors who are leaders in the fields of mental health, public health, and public policy, is a practical guide to the issues surrounding the relation between firearms deaths and mental illness. Tragic mass shootings that capture headlines reinforce the mistaken beliefs that people with mental illness are violent and responsible for much of the gun violence in the United States. This misconception stigmatizes individuals with mental illness and distracts us from the awareness that approximately 65% of all firearm deaths each year are suicides. This book is an apolitical exploration of the misperceptions and realities that attend gun violence and mental illness. The authors frame both pressing social issues as public health problems subject to a variety of interventions on individual and collective levels, including utilization of a novel perspective: evidence-based interventions focusing on assessments and indicators of dangerousness, with or without indications of mental illness. Reader-friendly, well-structured, and accessible to professional and lay audiences, the book: * Reviews the epidemiology of gun violence and its relationship to mental illness, exploring what we know about those who perpetrate mass shootings and school shootings. * Examines the current legal provisions for prohibiting access to firearms for those with mental illness and whether these provisions and new mandated reporting interventions are effective or whether they reinforce negative stereotypes associated with mental illness. * Discusses the issues raised in accessing mental health treatment in regard to diminished treatment resources, barriers to access, and involuntary commitment.* Explores novel interventions for addressing these issues from a multilevel and multidisciplinary public health perspective that does not stigmatize people with mental illness. This includes reviews of suicide risk assessment; increasing treatment engagement; legal, social, and psychiatric means of restricting access to firearms when people are in crisis; and, when appropriate, restoration of firearm rights. Mental health clinicians and trainees will especially appreciate the risk assessment strategies presented here, and mental health, public health, and public policy researchers will find Gun Violence and Mental Illness a thoughtful and thought-provoking volume that eschews sensationalism and embraces serious scholarship.
Handbook of Men's Health Disparities
by
Worldwide, men have more opportunities, privileges, and power, yet they also have shorter life expectancies than women. Why is this? Why are there stark differences in the burden of disease, quality of life, and length of life amongst men, by race, ethnicity, (dis)ability status, sexual orientation, gender identity, rurality, and national context? Why is this a largely unexplored area of research? Men's Health Equity is the first volume to describe men's health equity as a field of study that emerged from gaps in and between research on men's health and health inequities. This handbook provides a comprehensive review of foundations of the field; summarizes the issues unique to different populations; discusses key frameworks for studying and exploring issues that cut across populations in the United States, Australia, Canada, the United Kingdom, Central America, and South America; and offers strategies for improving the health of key population groups and achieving men's health equity overall. This book systematically explores the underlying causes of these differences, describes the specific challenges faced by particular groups of men, and offers policy and programmatic strategies to improve the health and well-being of men and pursue men's health equity. Men's Health Equitywill be the first collection to present the state of the science in this field, its progress, its breadth, and its future. This book is an invaluable resource for scholars, researchers, students, and professionals interested in men's health equity, men's health, psychology of men's health, gender studies, public health, and global health. key population groups and achieving men's health equity overall. This book systematically explores the underlying causes of these differences, describes the specific challenges faced by particular groups of men, and offers policy and programmatic strategies to improve the health and well-being of men and pursue men's health equity. Men's Health Equitywill be the first collection to present the state of the science in this field, its progress, its breadth, and its future. This book is an invaluable resource for scholars, researchers, students, and professionals interested in men's health equity, men's health, psychology of men's health, gender studies, public health, and global health.
Helping Couples and Families Navigate Illness and Disability
by
Couples and families face daunting challenges as they cope with serious illness and disability. This book gives clinicians a roadmap for helping affected individuals and their loved ones live well with a wide range of child, adult, and later-life conditions. John S. Rolland describes ways to intervene with emerging challenges over the course of long-term or life-threatening disorders. Using vivid case examples, he illustrates how clinicians can help families harness their strengths for positive adaptation and relational growth. Rolland's integrated systemic approach is useful for preventive screening, consultations, brief counseling, more intensive therapy, and multifamily groups, across health care settings and disciplines. This book significantly advances the clinical utility of Rolland's earlier landmark volume, Families, Illness, and Disability.
Helping Parents and Teachers - Understand Medications for Behavioral and Emotional Problems
by
A dozen experts in child and adolescent psychiatry contributed to this new and fully updated fourth edition of Helping Parents and Teachers Understand Medications for Behavioral and Emotional Problems, ensuring that it remains the most trusted resource for educating parents and teachers about psychotropics prescribed for children and adolescents. The book is arranged alphabetically, and each medication has its own information sheet that can be photocopied or downloaded and printed by psychiatrists, pediatricians, and neurologists for distribution to parents and teachers. A useful resource for school staff and library patrons, the information sheets will also be helpful to nonprescribing mental health professionals talking with families about possible referral for medication. The compendium has been designed for maximum utility and accessibility. * Each information sheet includes a section with general information applicable to all medications and very specific sections that include a description of the medication and why it is used, monitoring of the medication, side effects, interactions with other medications and with food, and additional information that is relevant to how the medication can best help and be used safely. * The book is written in a straightforward, understandable style that is accessible and nonintimidating to the lay public.* The number of medications covered has been expanded to reflect new drugs and older drugs recently approved for children and adolescents, such as vilazodone (Viibryd), asenapine (Saphris), and ramelteon (Rozerem).* Explanations of new concerns about potential side effects and FDA black box warnings for antidepressants and stimulants are included.* The "Information on the Internet" section offers a list of vetted medical and professional organizations where the reader can find additional information about child and adolescent mental health and treatment, and the book also includes robust lists of both published resources for parents and teachers and selected additional reading for health and mental health professionals.* Appendices cover medicines with FDA indication for attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder (ADHD); medicines typically used for anxiety, depression, psychosis, mood stabilizing, and aggression; and an index of medicines by brand name. No other volume offers up-to-the-minute information on psychotropic medications for youth in such an easy-to-use format. Comprehensive and authoritative, Helping Parents and Teachers Understand Medications for Behavioral and Emotional Problems will prove indispensable to clinicians in helping to foster understanding among parents and educators.
Indirect Action
by
The experience of illness (both mental and physical) figures prominently in the critical thought and activism of the 1960s and 1970s, though it is largely overshadowed by practices of sexuality. Lisa Diedrich explores how and why illness was indeed so significant to the social, political, and institutional transformation beginning in the 1960s through the emergence of AIDS in the United States. A rich intervention--both theoretical and methodological, political and therapeutic--Indirect Action illuminates the intersection of illness, thought, and politics. Not merely a revision of the history of this time period, Indirect Action expands the historiographical boundaries through which illness and health activism in the United States have been viewed. Diedrich explores the multiplicity illness-thought-politics through an array of subjects: queering the origin story of AIDS activism by recalling its feminist history; exploring health activism and the medical experience; analyzing psychiatry and self-help movements; thinking ecologically about counterpractices of generalism in science and medicine; and considering the experience and event of epilepsy and the witnessing of schizophrenia. Indirect Action places illness in the leading role in the production of thought during the emergence of AIDS, ultimately showing the critical interconnectedness of illness and political and critical thought.
Mental Health Intervention and Treatment of First Responders and Emergency Workers
by
The stress that comes with being a first responder has been known to lead to depression, anxiety, substance abuse, and suicide. However, few clinicians are informed about these health concerns and how to adequately treat them in this population. Therefore, there is an urgent need for practitioners to understand the latest information regarding treatments that will be useful to this specific population. Mental Health Intervention and Treatment of First Responders and Emergency Workers is an essential reference source that focuses on the latest research for diagnosing and treating mental health issues experienced by emergency personnel and seeks to generate awareness and inform clinicians about the unique circumstances encountered by these professionals. While highlighting topics including anxiety disorders and stress management, this book is ideally designed for clinicians, therapists, psychologists, psychiatrists, practitioners, medical professionals, EMTs, law enforcement, fire departments, military, academicians, researchers, policymakers, and students seeking current research on psychological therapy methods regarding first responders.
Neeb's Mental Health Nursing
by
Here's the must-know information LPN/LVN students need to care for patients with mental health disorders where they'll encounter them - in general patient care settings. An easy-to-read, conversational writing style shows you how to recognize and respond to the most important mental health issues. You'll also explore important communication techniques, ethical and legal issues, and alternative and complementary treatments. Coverage of nursing interventions, basic psychiatric nursing skills, and psychopharmacology prepares you for the NCLEX-PN® exam and clinical practice. See what students are saying online... Five stars. "Very good and easy to read."--Robert Great buy."Exactly what I wanted."--Nathan
Positive Psychiatry
by
Long overdue, Positive Psychiatry provides a rigorous and clinically useful guide to the growing body of research that strongly suggests that positive psychosocial factors such as resilience, optimism, and social engagement are associated with better outcomes, including lower morbidity, greater longevity, and a heightened sense of patient well-being. Because most of the research has been conducted outside of the field of psychiatry, it has had relatively little influence on everyday clinical practice. This volume, written and edited by luminaries in the field, hopes to remedy this situation by introducing clinicians to the guiding principles of positive psychiatry, which hold that mental health cannot be defined as the mere reduction or even elimination of mental illness, and that mental health professionals must focus on more than simply controlling the symptoms of illness. To that end, the book, while biologically grounded and exhaustively referenced, is also structured and written to be accessible. It includes many useful features: * Bulleted outlines of key clinical points are included where appropriate, fostering direct application of positive psychiatry constructs, measures, interventions, and outcomes into clinical practice and training.* An abundance of interesting and compelling clinical vignettes illustrate how to incorporate positive psychiatry techniques and treatment strategies into practice.* Comprehensive coverage makes this volume the "go-to" resource for researchers and clinicians seeking an overview and details of what positive psychiatry is, why it is needed, and how to integrate it into research, practice, and training.* The roster of contributors is a "who's who" in the field of positive mental health, rendering this the definitive source of information on positive psychiatry. Chief among the book's strengths is its emphasis on empirically grounded applications, and the editors have ensured that limitations in the available evidence base are identified, as well as directions for further research. Positive Psychiatry fills a critical gap in the treatment literature, and researchers, clinicians, and trainees in psychiatry and allied mental health fields will welcome its publication.
Primary Care Psychiatry
by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! Perfect for primary care physicians, nurse practitioners, and PAs, who are routinely confronted with behavioral health disorders among patients in a primary care setting, the second edition of this unique multimedia handbook--now affiliated with the Association of Medicine and Psychiatry--sits at the intersection of primary care and psychiatry. You'll find much that is new: updated fundamentals on depression, anxiety, psychosis, substance, and eating disorders, as well as overviews on CBT, motivational therapy, and common pharmacological therapies. With contributors from the worlds of both psychiatry and primary care, you have a perfect package on how to integrate the two in order to deliver better mental health care for your patients. Ebook now features 30-minute educational videos, instructional PowerPoint slides, and a 15-question multiple-choice assessment for every chapter. Includes tips on navigating the psychiatric interview and updated DSM-5 diagnostic criteria. Disorder-specific chapters follow a handy templated format: clinical highlights, diagnosis, treatment, medications, practice tips, and more. True-to-life case studies and patient scenarios illuminate key concepts in psychiatry. Guidance on navigating the Collaborative Care Model and applying the primary care psychiatry assessment. Packed with easy-to-read figures and tables that helps make information easy to digest and implement. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Promoting Health Equity among Racially and Ethnically Diverse Adolescents
by
Racial and ethnic minority youth have less access to health care and experience health disparities that are linked to social determinants that impact their health and well-being. This book is a practical reference for clinicians caring for racially and ethnically diverse adolescents seeking to effectively identify and address the social structures and factors that influence their health and well-being to promote health equity. It provides an overview of key health equity, population health and cultural competency principles and highlights clinical, teaching, and research skills critical to promoting health equity. Clinically oriented chapters provide guidance on strength-based approaches and strategies that clinicians can integrate in their encounters with diverse youth and feature clinical vignettes, clinical pearls and reflection questions to promote the application of concepts to practice. Promoting Health Equity Among Racially and Ethnically Diverse Adolescents is a valuable resource for clinicians across all areas of medicine.
Promoting Self-Management of Chronic Health Conditions
by
It is common for a doctor or healthcare professional to see an individual with a chronic health condition only a few times a year for a brief office appointment. Yet, the individual has to live with the health condition 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. So, who really is in charge of managing the health condition? The individual has to "micro-manage" their condition, while healthcare professionals can provide advice on treatment approaches or the "macro-management" of the chronic health condition. Promoting Self-Management of Chronic Health Conditions covers a range of topics related to self-management-theories and practice, interventions that have been scientifically tested, and information that individuals with specific conditions should know (or be taught by healthcare professionals). Data suggest that currently a majority of individuals in the U.S. has a chronic health condition, and as society ages and healthcare continues to improve individuals' life-spans, more people will experience a chronic health condition. Health systems need to shift from an acute care model of treatment to a chronic care treatment model, in view of this trend. The expanding need for the development and scientific analysis of formal self-management programs accompany this increase in chronic health conditions. This book serves the critical purpose of helping to increase understanding of self-management and how healthcare providers can empower individuals with chronic health conditions to self-manage.