Regional: COVID-19 : Home

NEWSWORTHY

COVID-19: Updated Vaccines for 2024-2025 Season
NIH to open long COVID clinical trials to study sleep disturbances, exercise intolerance, and post exertional malaise
NIH News Release from Wednesday, May 8, 2024
Combined COVID-19, Flu Vaccine Candidate Headed to Phase 3 Trials
from JAMA Network Medical News in Brief Nov. 15, 2023
NIH - Final Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19) Treatment Guidelines (February 29, 2024)
The final update of the COVID-19 Treatment Guidelines was on February 29, 2024. PDFs of the Guidelines can be downloaded until August 16, 2024, when the website will be shut down.

from 4/26/24 Politico Prescription Pulse Newsletter- NIH: RESEARCH ACCESS FOR LONG COVID DATA — The NIH said Thursday that researchers can now request certain long Covid data from its Researching COVID to Enhance Recovery (RECOVER) Initiative.

“These data include information from more than 92,000 study visits collected between Oct. 29, 2021-Sept. 15, 2023 at 79 locations throughout the United States,” the NIH said. “New RECOVER data, including data from other studies, will be added ... at regular intervals.”

RECOVER Data | RECOVER COVID Initiative

CDC: Centers for Disease Control

CDC - End of the Federal COVID-19 Public Health Emergency (PHE) Declaration
Updated May 5, 2023. Excerpt:
What You Need to Know
The federal COVID-19 PHE declaration will end on May 11, 2023.
Most tools, like vaccines, treatments, and testing, will remain available.
CDC’s ability to collect and share certain data will change.
CDC is updating its guidance to align with data changes.
CDC - Clinical Outreach and Communication Activity (COCA)
Via webinars, announcements and more COCA prepares clinicians to respond to emerging health threats and public health emergencies by communicating relevant, timely information related to disease outbreaks, disasters, terrorism events, and other health alerts.
CDC - COVID-19 Main Index Page
CDC - Covid-19 by County (Community Level)
Note: As the public health emergency is scheduled to expire on May 11, 2023 the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) is planning to cease reporting Covid-19 Community Levels according to recent news reports. Please see Newsworthy section above.
(Levels can be low, medium, or high and are determined by looking at hospital beds being used, hospital admissions, and the total number of new COVID-19 cases in an area.)
CDC COVID Data Tracker
Includes community transmission levels provided for healthcare facility. Cases, deaths, hospitalizations, and more.
CDC Clinical Care Guidance for Healthcare Professionals about Coronavirus (COVID-19)
CDC. Main page for COVID-19 management guidance including for Home Care & Type of Patient.
Clinical Care Quick Reference
Updated Mar. 16, 2022
Clinical Questions about COVID-19: Questions and Answers
Updated Sept. 26, 2022. CDC’s COVID-19 Community Levels recommendations do not apply in healthcare settings, such as hospitals and nursing homes. Instead, healthcare settings should continue to use community transmission rates and continue to follow CDC’s infection prevention and control recommendations for healthcare settings.
Communication Resources
CDC is reviewing this page to align with updated guidance. Updated July 3, 2023.
COVID-19 Vaccination
COVID-19 Vaccine Effectiveness & Safety
From Morbidity & Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR) highlights the latest scientific information on the safety and effectiveness of COVID-19 vaccines.
CDC: Ending Isolation and Precautions for People with COVID-19: Interim Guidance
CDC.
Healthcare Workers: Information on COVID-19
Updated July 13, 2023
Health Departments: Information on COVID-19
Updated July 6, 2023
Indicators for Monitoring COVID-19 Community Levels and Making Public Health Recommendations
Updated Aug. 12, 2022 CDC Science Brief.
Infection Control Guidance
Updated May 8, 2023
Interim Guidance for Managing Healthcare Personnel with SARS-CoV-2 Infection or Exposure to SARS-CoV-2
CDC
Infection Control Guidance
Updated May 8, 2023
Isolation and Precautions for People with COVID-19
Updated May 11, 2023
Guidance for Schools & Child Care Programs
Updated May 11, 2023
Stay Up to Date with COVID-19 Vaccines Including Boosters
Updated July 17, 2023
CDC Travel
CDC
CDC COVID-19 Updates

NCDHHS: NC Department of Health and Human Services

COVID-19 Fact Sheets, Flyers and Graphics for Organizers and Advocates
Designed to support local health departments and community partners as they continue to inform and educate North Carolinians about testing, contact tracing and preventative measures .
COVID-19 Home Page
COVID-19 North Carolina Dashboard
from NC DHHS. Updated daily by 11 a.m. Includes laboratory-confirmed cases, deaths, completed tests, currently hospitalized, and number of counties. Details on key metrics are highlighted including Zip Code map, Counties map, age, race/ethnicity, gender, cases of time, congregate living, reporting hospitals, PPE, surrveillance reprort, Also a link to Weekly report on COVID-19 Patients Presumed to be Recovered updated every Monday by 4 p.m.
Covid-19 Therapeutics Provider Hub
NCDHHS COVID-19 Vaccine Information
NCDHHS home page for vaccination information and links.
Find Covid-19 Treatment
Frequently Asked Questions about Testing and Treatment
Information and Guidance
Offers links to resources for specific groups such as health care, child care, education, businesses, human services, housing
Latest Updates
Strong Schools NC Public Health Toolkit
June 2, 2023
Therapeutics Information for Providers

NIH: National Institutes of Health

COVID-19 Topics
COVID-19 Treatment Guidelines
The final update of the COVID-19 Treatment Guidelines was on February 29, 2024. PDFs of the Guidelines can be downloaded until August 16, 2024, when the website will be shut down.
What's New: COVID-19 Treatment Guidelines
Last Updated: December 20, 2023
Therapeutic Management of Nonhospitalized Adults With COVID-19
Last Updated: Nov. 2, 2023. This page is being revised. For current information on the use of bebtelovimab, see the Panel’s : https://www.covid19treatmentguidelines.nih.gov/therapies/update-on-bebtelovimab/recent statement

U.S. Department of Health & Human Services (HHS)

Administration for Strategic Preparedness & Response (ASPR)
CombatCOVID: Join the Fight: Find ways to prevent, treat or help fight COVID-19.
USDHHS. Includes I've Never Had COVID-19; I Have COVID-19 Now; I Had COVID-19 in the Past.
COVID-19 Test to Treat Locator
COVID.gov
Community guidance & toolkit. Learn how to access resources to keep yourself and others safe from COVID-19.
ASPR’s Role in the Federal COVID-19 Response
Within HHS, the Office of the Assistant Secretary for Preparedness and Response (ASPR) is working with partners to explore the development of new medical countermeasures and actions to enhance health security.

FDA: Food & Drug Administration

At-Home OTC COVID-19 Diagnostic Tests
Includes List of Authorized At-Home OTC COVID-19 Diagnostic Tests. The list includes manufacturer & test name, photograph of product, who can use the test, other details including information about expiration.
Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19)
Press Announcements
Understanding At-Home OTC COVID-19 Antigen Diagnostic Test Results

IDSA: Infectious Disease Society of America

COVID-19 Real-Time Learning Network
From Infectious Disease Society of America (IDSA) and with funding from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, the COVID-19 Real-Time Learning Network brings together the latest clinical guidance, institutional protocols, clinical trials data, practice tools and resources from a variety of medical subspecialties around the world

Selected WNC, Buncombe County, or NC Resources

At-home Testing for Covid-19

At-Home OTC COVID-19 Diagnostic Tests
Includes List of Authorized At-Home OTC COVID-19 Diagnostic Tests. The list includes manufacturer & test name, photograph of product, who can use the test, other details including information about expiration.
DHHS - Get free at-⁠home COVID-⁠19 tests this fall
Fall 2023
NCDHHS - Check the Expiration Date for Your At-Home COVID-19 Test
NCDHHS - COVID-19 Home Tests and Collection Kits
From the site: "Did you know free home tests are widely available? They're easy to use, and rapid home tests give results in minutes, making them the test of choice. You can pick up home tests in your community, or get tests mailed to you."
NCDHHS - How to Test for COVID-19 at Home
USPS- Place Your Order for Free At-Home COVID-19 Tests
As of November 20, 2023, residential households in the U.S. can order one set of #4 free at-home tests from USPS.com

Patient Care

APA - Critical Updates on Covid-19
American Academy of Pediatrics
CAROLINA GLOBAL BREASTFEEDING INSTITUTE (CGBI) -L.I.F.E.™ SUPPORT FOR COVID-19
Information on Breastfeeding, Community, Mental Health, and Child Care from the Carolina Global Breastfeeding Institute, Lactation and Infant Feeding in Emergencies (L.I.F.E.™) Initiative.
CDC - People Who Are Immunocompromised Know how to protect yourself and what to do if you get sick
Updated: May 11, 2023
Dynamed - Management of COVID-19
DynaMed via MAHEC is an evidence-based clinical decision tool. Its COVID-19 information is available for free.
FDA - SARS-CoV-2 Viral Mutations: Impact on COVID-19 Tests
This page provides information about tests authorized by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) for the identification and differentiation of specific SARS-CoV-2 mutations and lineages as well as the impact of viral mutations on COVID-19 tests.
HHS - Side-by-Side Overview of Therapeutics Authorized or Approved for the Prevention of COVID-19 Infection or Treatment of Mild-Moderate COVID-19
Updated Sept. 2023. From HHS Therapeutic Team. This table is a quick reference summarizing key information for available pre-exposure prophylaxis (PrEP) for preventing COVID-19 infection and for all outpatient therapies currently authorized or approved in the United States for treatment of mild-moderate COVID-19.1 This resource will be regularly reviewed and updated.
Infectious Diseases Society of America Guidelines on the Treatment and Management of Patients with COVID-19
Published by IDSA on 4/11/2020. Last updated, 6/26/2023. Includes links to App.
LactMed COVID-19 vaccines
LactMed.
NIH - COVID-19 Treatment Guidelines

CDC - Covid-19 Plan
English. Tools, information, and action steps to share with your family, friends, and healthcare provider
CDC - Plan contra el Covid-19
Spanish. Herramientas, información y medidas para compartir con su familia, amistades y proveedor de atención médica.

Post-COVID conditions (Long-Covid) and Multisystem Inflammatory Syndrome (MIS)

CDC - Post-COVID Conditions: Information for Healthcare Providers
Updated Sept. 11, 2023
CDC Post-COVID Conditions (for Patients)
CDC.
CDC - Post-COVID Conditions: CDC Science
Updated Sept. 23, 2023
ESCMID rapid guidelines for assessment and management of long COVID
Yelin D, Moschopoulos CD, Margalit I, Gkrania-Klotsas E, Landi F, Stahl JP, Yahav D. Clin Microbiol Infect. 2022 Jul;28(7):955-972. doi: 10.1016/j.cmi.2022.02.018. Epub 2022 Feb 17. PMID: 35182760; PMCID: PMC8849856.
KFF - Long COVID: What Do the Latest Data Show?
Jan. 26, 2023
LitCovid - Long Covid
Literature indexed in PubMed on the topic of Post-COVID conditions and sequelae
Long COVID and Chronic Fatigue Syndrome Share Pathophysiology
June 15, 2023 from NEJM Journal Watch
NICE - COVID-19 rapid guideline: managing the long-term effects of COVID-19
NICE guideline [NG188]Published: 18 December 2020 Last updated: 11 November 2021
NIHCM - Long COVID: New Research and the Economic Toll
Dec. 15, 2022. Recorded webinar from NIHCM
NIHCM - Long COVID: What We Know
Infographic published February 02, 2023
NIH - Large study provides scientists with deeper insight into long COVID symptoms
News Release, May 25, 2023
NIH - Long Covid
Patient-Led Research Collaborative
Group of Long Covid patients who are also researchers.
Post-COVID Conditions (Long COVID)
Consumer health information from MedlinePlus (National Library of Medicine)
RECOVER: Researching COVID to Enhance Recovery
RECOVER Initiative brings together patients, caregivers, clinicians, community leaders, and scientists from across the nation to understand, prevent, and treat PASC, including Long COVID. This group is called the RECOVER Consortium.
RECOVER - Researching Covid to Enhance Recovery - Research Data
NIH - Severe COVID-19 may lead to long-term innate immune system changes
NIH News Release. Aug. 18, 2023.
Voices of Long COVID
Resolve to Save Lives: An Initiative of Vital Strategies

Multisystem Inflammatory Syndrome (MIS)

CDC - Multisystem Inflammatory Syndrome (MIS)
The CDC is conducting surveillance and investigations of multisystem inflammatory syndrome in children and adults, a rare but serious condition associated with COVID-19. Includes information on MIS-A (Adults) & MIS-C (Children).

Vaccines

CDC - The Vaccine Adverse Event Reporting System (VAERS)
The VAERS database contains information on unverified reports of adverse events (illnesses, health problems and/or symptoms) following immunization with US-licensed vaccines. Reports are accepted from anyone and can be submitted electronically at www.vaers.hhs.gov.
CDC - Vaccines.gov
Information on finding Covid-19 vaccinations sites and more
FDA - Covid-19 Vaccines
The FDA has regulatory processes in place to facilitate the development of COVID-19 vaccines that meet the FDA's rigorous scientific standards.
NCDHHS COVID-19 Vaccine Information
NCDHHS home page for vaccination information and links.

Variants

CDC -SARS-CoV-2 Variant Classifications and Definitions
Updated Sept. 1, 2023
CDC - Variants of the Virus
Updated Feb. 6, 2023
NAP - Promoting Uptake of COVID-19, Influenza, and RSV Vaccines for Fall 2023
A rapid expert consultation from The National Academies Press.
Variants & Genomic Surveillance
from the CDC Covid Data Tracker. Maps, charts, and data provided by CDC, updates Mon & Thur by 8 pm ET.

Dashboards & Trackers

CDC - Covid-19 by County (Community Level)
CDC COVID Data Tracker
CDC.
CDC - Science Brief: Indicators for Monitoring COVID-19 Community Levels and Making Public Health Recommendations
CDC COVID-19 Data from the National Center for Health Statistics
CDC
Covid ActNow
Updated on April 17, 2023
COVID-19 North Carolina Dashboard
from NC DHHS. Updated daily by 11 a.m. Includes laboratory-confirmed cases, deaths, completed tests, currently hospitalized, and number of counties. Details on key metrics are highlighted including Zip Code map, Counties map, age, race/ethnicity, gender, cases of time, congregate living, reporting hospitals, PPE, surrveillance reprort, Also a link to Weekly report on COVID-19 Patients Presumed to be Recovered updated every Monday by 4 p.m.

Clinical Trials Databases & Data Sites

ClinicalTrials.gov - Find a Study search portal
ClinicalTrials.gov - Trials that include COVID, SARS-CoV-2, and Coronavirus disease 2019
ClinicalTrials.gov - Views of COVID-19 Studies Listed on ClinicalTrials.gov (Beta)
Includes various tables that show number of registered studies, countries, and U.S. Sites including Washington, D.C. retrieved by selected searches of COVID-19 studies. Beta format accessed March 31, 2022
NCBI SARS-CoV-2 Resources
Includes SRA runs, nucleotide records, clinical trials, PubMed, and PMC references.
WHO - COVID-19 Studies from the World Health Organization Database
Updated weekly by ClinicalTrials.gov
WHO - International Clinical Trials Registry Platform (ICTRP) Search Portal
from the World Health Organization. Search can be restricted to COVID-19.

Keeping Current

CDC News & Updates
Stay up-to-date with the latest information by subscribing to CDC journals, publications, articles, and more.
Center for Infectious Disease Research & Policy
Infectious disease email updates from the Center for Infectious Disease Research & Policy includes Covid-19 updates.
COVID-19 Evidence Alerts
View or sign up for free best evidence alerts from McMaster PLUS (TM). Reviews literature about clinical care of people with threatened, suspected or confirmed COVID-19 infection. It is updated every weekday as evidence reports are published in all journals included in MEDLINE. Reports are critically appraised for scientific merit, and those with acceptable scientific merit are appraised for relevance and importance by frontline clinicians.
FDA Newsroom
LitCovid (LC)
A literature hub for tracking up-to-date scientific information about the 2019 novel Coronavirus. It provides central access relevant articles in PubMed. Updated daily and categorized by different research topics (e.g. transmission) and geographic locations. See the FAQs on details about the process.
NIH News Releases

General Infection Control Resources (all types of infections)

Selected Influenza Resources & RSV 2022-23

Selected Monkeypox Resources

CDC - 2022 U.S. Mpox Outbreak
Comprehensive site that includes FAQs, signs & symptoms, treatment, prevention, sexual health, vaccines and more. Updated Data as of December 14 2022
CDC - Clinical Outreach and Communication Activity (COCA)
Via webinars, announcements and more COCA prepares clinicians to respond to emerging health threats and public health emergencies by communicating relevant, timely information related to disease outbreaks, disasters, terrorism events, and other health alerts.
CDC - Clinical Recognition - Mpox
CDC - Infection Prevention and Control of Mpox in Healthcare Settings
Updated 10/31/2022
CDC - Clinical Recognition - Mpox
CDC - Testing Patients for Mpox
1 page PDF - CS333703-A 08/18/2022
FDA - Mpox Response
FDA - Policy for Mpox Tests to Address the Public Health Emergency
September 2022 - Guidance for Laboratories, Commercial Manufacturers and Food and Drug Administration Staff
HHS - Administration for Strategic Preparedness & Response (ASPR)
ASPR's Response to the Mpox Outbreak
Mpox Resources
A resources guide created by UNC Health Sciences Library staff
NCDHHS - Mpox Communications Toolkit
NCDHHS - Mpox in North Carolina
WHO - Surveillance, case investigation and contact tracing for mpox (monkeypox)
Interim guidance. Dec. 22, 2022
WHO - Mpox Outbreak
WHO recommends new name for mpox disease
Nov. 28, 2022

Environmental Factors & Health

About Heat and Your Health
from the CDC for consumers.
Heat Health
from the CDC for Healthcare Professionals
HeatRisk
HeatRisk is a health-based heat forecast developed by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)'s National Weather Service (NWS) and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). It integrates health and temperature data to deliver a 7-day outlook for hot weather. HeatRisk uses a 5-level scale to indicate how risky the heat level is in a specific area. Each level uses a color to represent risks from heat exposure.

COVID-19

RSS - COVID-19 Rebound & COVID-19 Therapy

Search selected Covid-19 web sites

Feedback

Suggestions?

Broken links?

Let us know:

library@mahec.net

Past Newsworthy