Regional: Collections of Literature: Substance Use Disorders (SUDs)

Substance Use Disorders (SUDs) Guide to Evidence-Based Resources

This librarian-created guide includes selected resources of interest to those at MAHEC supporting SUDs prevention and treatment options.

For articles not accessible, health and human services personnel in WNC may request an article from MAHEC Library Science (fees may apply).
For a comprehensive search on any topic, health and human services personnel in WNC may request a literature search

NEW IN SUDs

NIDA - Patrick, M. E., Miech, R. A., Johnston, L. D., & O’Malley, P. M. (2023). Monitoring the Future Panel Study annual report: National data on substance use among adults ages 19 to 60, 1976-2022. Monitoring the Future Monograph Series. Ann Arbor, MI:
Sponsored by the National Institute on Drug Abuse at the National Institutes of Health

MAHEC Specific SUDs Resources

Regional, Rural & North Carolina SUDs Resources

Caring for Patients with Opioid Use Disorder: Policies, Procedures, and Resource Manual
Updated in 2023 this manual includes resources on harm reduction, Fentanyl, and Xylazine and information on Buprenorphine for prescribers, pharmacists, and patients. It also includes new office-based opioid treatment policies and procedures and information on the removal of all X-waiver requirements. Fill out the form to download it.
NCDHHS - North Carolina Drug User Health Resource Guide by Region
from the NC Department of Health and Human Services • Division of Public Health • Communicable Disease Branch. August 2022
North Carolina's Opioid Action Plan
from the NC Department of Health & Human Services (NCDHHS)
North Carolina Opioid Settlements - Data Dashboards
Opioid and Substance Use Action Plan Data Dashboard
North Carolina State, regional, and county-level metrics are visualized.
Opioid Data Lab
This data repository was created in response to a mandate to create open-source tools and to share findings in a way that is accessible by the public.
Opioid Data Lab: Studies
See the details of the Theory, Practice, and Lived Experiences studies conducted and curated in open-source format by the Opioid Data Lab.
Opioid Misuse in Rural America
Includes toolbox, assessment tool, resource & action guide from the United States Department of Agriculture
Opioid Settlement Funding - Support for Maximum Impact via Evidence-Based Methods
from MAHEC
Substance Use and Misuse in Rural Areas
from RHIhub (Rural Health Information Hub)
Substance Use Prevention & Treatment
from MAHEC
Street Drug Analysis Lab @ UNC
Public Health Drug Checking by Mail. A public service of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. We provide analytical chemistry services and information for public health.

Guidelines, Policies, and Reports

Addiction Policy Forum: Projects and initiatives. Nationwide nonprofit organization dedicated to eliminating addiction as a major health problem. Our vision is to eliminate addiction as a major health problem. Founded in 2015, are strategic priorities include helping patients and families in crisis, end the stigma around addiction, expand prevention and early intervention, increase the uptake of evidence-based practice and advance patient-led research.
CDC- Evidence-Based Strategies for Preventing Opioid Overdose: What’s Working in the United States
An introduction for public heath, law enforcement, local organizations, and others striving to serve their community. From CDC National Center of Injury and Control, 2018
more...less...
Authors: Jennifer J. Carroll, PhD, MPH; Traci C. Green, PhD, MSc; and Rita K. Noonan, PhD
CDC - Linking People with Opioid Use Disorder to Medication Treatment: A Technical Package of Policy, Programs, and Practices
2022. National Center for Injury Prevention and Control, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Atlanta, Georgia.
CDC Clinical Practice Guideline for Prescribing Opioids for Pain — United States, 2022
Recommendations and Reports / November 4, 2022 / 71(3);1–95
Clinical Guidance for Treating Pregnant and Parenting Women With Opioid Use Disorders and their Infants
HHS Publication No. (SMA) 18-5054. Rockville,MD: Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, 2018.
FDA - Safe Opioid Disposal - Remove the Risk Outreach Toolkit Use these free toolkit materials—public service announcements (PSAs), social media images and posts, fact sheets, and more—for talking with others about safe opioid disposal.
FDA Continues Important Work on Substance Use and Overdose Prevention Efforts
By: Robert M. Califf, M.D., Commissioner of Food and Drugs. FDA Voices. Sept. 2022
HHS - Overdose Prevention Strategy
The U.S. Dept. of Health & Human Services (HHS) strategy expands the scope of the crisis response beyond opioids to include other substances that are often involved in overdoses, including stimulants such as methamphetamine and cocaine.
NASEM - Pain Management and the Opioid Epidemic: Balancing Societal and Individual Benefits and Risks of Prescription Opioid Use (2017)
National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. 2017. Washington, DC: The National Academies Press. https://doi.org/10.17226/24781.
NIDA - Patrick, M. E., Miech, R. A., Johnston, L. D., & O’Malley, P. M. (2023). Monitoring the Future Panel Study annual report: National data on substance use among adults ages 19 to 60, 1976-2022. Monitoring the Future Monograph Series. Ann Arbor, MI:
Sponsored by the National Institute on Drug Abuse at the National Institutes of Health
PCSS - Practice-Based Guidelines: Buprenorphine in the Age of Fentanyl PCSS Guidance
from Providers Clinical Support System. May 2023. Dr. Wyatt, Program Director, Addiction Psychiatry Fellowship at MAHEC, contributed.
White House - National Drug Control Strategy

Harm Reduction

Harm Reduction Near You
from the National Harm Reduction Coalition
National Harm Reduction Coalition
Pregnancy and Substance Use: A Harm Reduction Toolkit from National Harm Reduction Coalition (2021)

Youth Substance Use Disorders - Prevention, Treatment, Strategies

Getting Candid: Framing the Conversation Around Youth Substance Use Prevention
from National Council of Mental Well-Being
Results from National Assessment Data Insights into Effective Substance Use Prevention Messaging for Youth
National Council for Mental Wellbeing
A Communication Pathway for Providers from National Council of Mental Wellbeing

General SUDs Resources

Action Collaborative on Countering the U.S. Opioid Epidemic
from the National Academy of Medicine (NAM). MAHEC is a current participant.
Alcohol Use
Data are for the U.S. from the CDC National Center for Health Statistics.
Brother (PBS Short Film Festival 2023)
A filmmaker's intimate phone calls with her brother explore his fragile recovery from opioid addiction. Using imaginative animation, they journey both into the cosmos—a place her brother has encyclopedic knowledge about—and an all-too-real world where shame and pain take their toll.
CA Bridge: Transforming addiction treatment - Tools
"...making it possible for people who use drugs to get treatment at any hospital..." Some resources of this site are specific to California Hospitals and many are general.
CDC - Opioid portal
Drug Overdose
from CDC
Illicit Drug Use
Data for the U.S. from the CDC National Center of Health Statistics.
National Institute on Drug Abuse
NIDA - Addiction Science
Opioides
CDC en Espanol
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration
Substance Use Prevention and Treatment Initiative
from Pew

Treatment Strategies

Addiction Care Collection
from Playbook. Collections explore interventions that address the needs of people with complex needs by curating available peer-reviewed research, case studies, tools, and on-the-ground perspectives. Resources help address: What is the evidence for an intervention? What does it look like in practice? and How can I do it? Although not exhaustive, Collections will evolve as new and promising research and other resources are available.
BUPE: Buprenorphine use in the Emergency Department Tool from the American College of Emergency Physicians
ED-Initiated Buprenorphine
From Yale School of Medicine
How Using Contingency Management Can Support Families Affected by Substance Use Disorders
Presentation. National Center on Substance Abuse and Child Welfare, 2022. 1) an overview of contingency management including the implementation with different cultural populations, 2) the implementation experience of a Regional Partnership Grantee (Montefiore Medical Center), 3) a closer look at the myths and stigma associated with contingency management, and 4) practical strategies for agencies to implement contingency management.
Initiating Buprenorphine Treatment in the Emergency Department
NIH's National Institute of Drug Abuse

Selected Substance Use Disorders & Addiction eBooks and eJournals

eBooks

The ASAM Principles of Addiction Medicine by Shannon Miller
ISBN: 9781496370983
Publication Date: 2019
Available via AHEC Digital Library on the OVID platform. Note the New Book Reader option. Thoroughly updated 6th edition this American Society of Addiction Medicine's (ASAM) official flagship textbook reviews the science and art behind addiction medicine and provides health care providers with the necessary information to not only properly diagnose and treat their patients, but to also serve as change agents to positively impact clinical service design and delivery, as well as global health care policy.
The American Society of Addiction Medicine Handbook on Pain and Addiction by Ilene Robeck (Editor); Melvin Pohl (Editor); Michael Weaver (Editor); Mark Weiner (Editor); Herbert Malinoff (Editor); Corey Waller (Editor); William Haning (Editor); Bonnie B. Wilford (Editor)
ISBN: 9780190265366
Publication Date: 2018-04-12
Available via AHEC Digital Library on the EBSCOHost platform This book provides clinical considerations and guidelines for the clinician treating patients with pain and addiction. Produced by the largest medical society dedicated to the improvement of addiction care, the book takes an evidence-based approach.
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5-TR) by American Psychiatric Association
ISBN: 9780890425756
Publication Date: 2022-03-18
via AHEC Digital Library from PsychiatryOnline (APA)
DSM-5-TR includes the fully revised text and references, updated diagnostic criteria and ICD-10-CM codes since DSM-5 was published in 2013. It features a new disorder, Prolonged Grief Disorder, as well as codes for suicidal behavior available to all clinicians of any discipline without the requirement of any other diagnosis.
Management of Adults with Traumatic Brain Injury by David B. Arciniegas (Editor); Rodney D. Vanderploeg (Editor); Nathan D. Zasler (Editor); Michael S. Jaffee (Editor)
ISBN: 9781585624041
Publication Date: 2013-04-03
via AHEC Digital Library from PsychiatryOnline (APA).
Includes Chapter 12 on Substance Use Disorders
Study Guide to Substance Abuse Treatment by Philip R. Muskin
ISBN: 9781585625116
Publication Date: 2015-06-26
via AHEC Digital Library from PsychiatryOnline (APA).
Study Guide to Substance Abuse Treatment is a question-and-answer companion that allows you to evaluate your mastery of the subject matter as you progress through The American Psychiatric Publishing Textbook of Substance Abuse Treatment, Fifth Edition.

eJournals

Journal of Addiction Medicine
via OVID from AHEC Digital Library

Journal of Addiction Medicine RSS Feed

The latest from Journal of Addiction Medicine (First 5 abstracts listed. Click on Website link to see more)

Special Topic: Xylazine

Best Practices for Management of Xylazine Withdrawal and Xylazine-related Overdose
by Penn Medicine Center for Addition Medicine and Policy. (2023. Posted 5/22/23)
Spencer MR, Cisewski JA, Warner M, Garnett MF. Drug overdose deaths involving xylazine: United States, 2018–2021. Vital Statistics Rapid Release; no 30. Hyattsville, MD: National Center for Health Statistics. 2023. DOI: https://dx.doi.org/10.15620/
Xylazine
From the Drug Enforcement Administration, Diversion Control Division, Drug & Chemical Evaluation Section (Nov. 2022).
Xylazine Round Table Discussion: Best practices for management of wounds, withdrawal and overdose in people exposed to xylazine and fentanyl
From Center for Addiction Medicine and Recovery. Recording of May 11, 2023 Roundtable

Special Topic: Stimulant or Methamphetamine Use Disorder

How Using Contingency Management Can Support Families Affected by Substance Use Disorders
Presentation. National Center on Substance Abuse and Child Welfare, 2022. 1) an overview of contingency management including the implementation with different cultural populations, 2) the implementation experience of a Regional Partnership Grantee (Montefiore Medical Center), 3) a closer look at the myths and stigma associated with contingency management, and 4) practical strategies for agencies to implement contingency management.
National Center of Substance Abuse and Child Welfare (NCSACW)- Methamphetamine
National Institute of Drug Abuse - Methamphetamine DrugFacts
National Institute of Drug Abuse - Methamphetamine Research Report
2019
NCSACW - Strategies to Support Parents with Methamphetamine Use Disorder and their Families.
2021
NCSACW - Strategies to Support Parents with Methamphetamine Use Disorder and their Families.
2021
SAMHSA - Matrix Intensive Outpatient Treatment for People With Stimulant Use Disorders: Counselor's Treatment Manual
2013. This manual contains materials, such as talking points and handouts, to help counselors conduct intensive outpatient treatment sessions. The manual discusses five types of sessions for treating adults who misuse substances. Sessions address recovery, relapse prevention, social support, and family education.
SAMHSA - Treatment of Stimulant Use Disorders
June 2020. This guide supports health care providers, systems, and communities seeking to treat stimulant use disorders. It describes relevant research findings, examines best practices, identifies knowledge gaps and implementation challenges, and offers useful resources.
SAMHSA - Using Matrix with Women Clients: A Supplement to the Matrix Intensive Outpatient Treatment for People with Stimulant Use Disorders
2012. This guide enhances the counselor’s treatment manual in the Matrix series, addressing the specific needs of women who misuse stimulants. It contains materials to help counselors conduct intensive outpatient treatment sessions on relationships, trauma, body image, and family roles.

RSS - Treatment of Methamphetamine Use Disorder

Click on "Website" link at end of list to see all references found in PubMed.

RSS - OUD Treatment in Adolescents

Click on "Website" link at end of list to see all references found in PubMed.

Dashboard, Mapping, Interactive Data & Directories

Drug Overdose Deaths in the United States: Community Assessment Tools
interactive data mapping tool from the USDA & NORC
North Carolina Opioid Settlements - Data Dashboards
SAMHSA:-Find Medication-Assisted Treatment (MAT)
There are many treatment options available for substance use disorders, including medication-assisted treatment (MAT).

SUDs Terminology

ADDICTION TERMINOLOGY STATEMENT
from International Society of Addiction Journal Editors
Recovery Oriented Language Guide
from the Mental Health Coordinating Council. 2nd edition, 2018.
Recommended Use of Terminology in Addiction Medicine.
J Addict Med. 2021 Jan-Feb 01;15(1):3-7. doi: 10.1097/ADM.0000000000000673. PMID: 32482955.

If needed, please order articles via this form.

NCHHS - Historically Marginalized Populations Engagement Toolkit
NIDA - Words Matter - Terms to Use and Avoid When Talking About Addiction
from National Institute on Drug Abuse. Nov. 29, 2021.
NIDA - Words Matter: Preferred Language for Talking About Addiction

Selected Certifications

American Nursing Certification Board (ANCB)
Offers The Certified Addiction Registered Nurse (CARN) is for RNs who have a minimum of 2,000 hours (one
year) of nursing experience related to addictions as an RN. The Certified Addiction Registered Nurse –
Advance Practice (CARN‐AP) is for RNs who hold a Master’s degree in Nursing.. :
Multi-Discipline Licensure Resource Project (MDLR)
A Professional’s Guide to Licensure. A license information hub for Occupational Therapists, Physical Therapists, Psychologists and Social Workers

COVID-19 & Substances Use Disorders (SUDs)

COVID-19 collection from CLOUD (Curated Library about Opioid Use for Decision makers)

Features educational resources that can be adapted for local settings, specific guidance on harm reduction, recovery housing and providing peer support services during the pandemic, and links to websites that provide high-quality information, data, and/or examples for local communities to adopt.

Coronavirus (COVID-19) (SAMHSA)
from SAMHSA provides the following guidance and resources to assist individuals, providers, communities, and states across the country. SAMHSA stands ready to assist in any manner possible.
COVID-19 Guidance for People Who Use Drugs and Harm Reduction Programs
from the Harm Reduction Coalition. These guides for people who use drugs and harm reduction programs were created by: Higher Ground Harm Reduction, Reynolds Health Strategies, Harm Reduction Coalition, and Vital Strategies. Published March 11, 2020.
Drug Enforcement Administration. COVID-19 information page. 2020.
from Drug Enforcement Administration. Includes questions, answers, guidance on Prescriptions, Registration as Emergency Temporary Site, Quota |National Drug Supply, EPCS, Telemedicine, Medication Assisted Treatment, Records and Reports, Contacts, Important Federal Links, and Important State Links.
COVID-19 and People at Increased Risk
from CDC

COVID-19 & SUDs RSS feed

Click on "Website" link at end of list to see all references found in PubMed.

Collections of Literature

Contact Your Clinical & Research Librarian

Archives: Substance Use Disorders Collections (no longer updated)

Substance Use Disorders (SUDs) Guide to Evidence-Based Resources

This librarian-created guide includes selected resources of interest to those at MAHEC supporting SUDs prevention and treatment options.

MAHEC Specific SUDs Resources

Regional, Rural & North Carolina SUDs Resources

Guidelines, Policies, and Reports

General SUDs Resources

Treatment Strategies

Selected Substance Use Disorders & Addiction eBooks and eJournals

Journal of Addiction Medicine RSS Feed

The latest from Journal of Addiction Medicine (First 5 abstracts listed. Click on Website link to see more)

Special Topic: Xylazine

Special Topic: Stimulant or Methamphetamine Use Disorder

RSS - Treatment of Methamphetamine Use Disorder

RSS - OUD Treatment in Adolescents

Dashboard, Mapping, Interactive Data & Directories

SUDs Terminology

Selected Certifications

COVID-19 & Substances Use Disorders (SUDs)

COVID-19 & SUDs RSS feed