Regional: Obstetrics & Gynecology Residency: Searching

EBP Databases

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
via UNC-CH. The Cochrane Library (ISSN 1465-1858) is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It includes the databases: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers. Also included are Special Collections: curated content collections on a specific healthcare topic.
Cochrane DSR, ACP Journal Club, DARE, CCTR, CMR, HTA, and NHSEED - EBM Reviews This link opens in a new window
OVID via AHEC Digital Library.
DynaMed This link opens in a new window
MAHEC employees only. Evidence-based clinical information presented in a summary bullet list format. Also includes drug information, graphics & images, recommendations, and patient education. Here you will also find DynaMed Decisions for shared decision making.
UpToDate (no longer available through ADL or UNC) This link opens in a new window
Provides extensive summaries of clinical topics, calculators, patient education, drug information, and more.

Hierarchy of evidence

PICO, sometimes known as PICOTT, is a common approach for formulating clinical questions.

P	I	C	O	T	T
Patient / Population	Intervention / Indicator	Compare / Control	Outcome	Time	Type of Study or Question
Who are the relevant patients? Think about age, sex, geographic location, or specific characteristics that would be important to your question.	What is the management strategy, diagnostic test, or exposure that you are interested in?	Is there a control or alternative management strategy you would like to compare to the intervention or indicator?	What are the patient-relevant consequences of the intervention?	What time periods should be considered?	What study types are most likely to have the information you seek? What clinical domain does your question fall under?

Also see our full EBP guide for additional details and alternative methods for formulating a question.

Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine Critical Appraisal Worksheets
Includes tools for appraising articles on diagnosis, harm, prognosis, systematic reviews (of therapy), and therapy.
Critical Appraisal Skills Programme (CASP) Checklists
Includes tools for appraising Systematic Reviews, Randomized Controlled Trials, Cohort Studies, Case Control Studies, Economic Evaluations, Diagnostic Studies, Qualitative Studies, and Clinical Prediction Rule.
JBI Critical Appraisal Tool
Includes tools for appraising, Cross-Sectional, Cohort, Case Control, Diagnostic, Qualitative, RCT, Prevalence, Economic Evaluations, Systematic Reviews, and more.

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
via UNC-CH.
DynaMed This link opens in a new window
MAHEC employees only.
UpToDate (no longer available through ADL or UNC) This link opens in a new window
via UNC-CH.

ACP Journal Club
Archives 1991-2008
Essential Evidence Plus
more...less...
Essential Evidence Plus is a powerful, comprehensive clinical decision support system that integrates information on 9,000 diagnoses into healthcare professionals' clinical workflows. This clinical tool, created by an international team of renowned medical experts, was developed for physicians, nurses, and other healthcare professionals on the front line of patient care.

ACP Journal Club - EBM Reviews This link opens in a new window
from OVID via the AHEC Digital Library (ADL). Click on link to EBM Reviews - ACP Journal Club in blue banner at top to get to Table of Contents.
PubMed MEDLINE and PreMEDLINE This link opens in a new window
via UNC-CH