From Monday June 16 to Friday June 20, the online Subject Guides are undergoing major updates
and will not be accessible. If you need assistance with finding information, please use the Library Servicesformsor email us at library@mahec.net.
Welcome
Welcome to the MAHEC Library guide for
Patient Health
This guide is a portal to patient health information for
All North Carolinians may use NC LIVE resources through their local library. Online resources are designed for at-home use and are available from any internet connection via library websites, and through nclive.org.
Topics include emergency preparedness and response, diseases and conditions, data and statistics, environmental health, healthy living, injury, violence and safety, life stages and populations, travelers' health, and workplace safety, and others.
This database includes labeling submitted to the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) by companies. It does not contain a complete listing of labeling for FDA-regulated products (e.g., labeling that is not submitted to the FDA).. There is an Advanced and Drug Class Search option. Also, a Labeling Archives that allows the user to retrieve the label current for a given date. By default, only archived labels for this year are returned.
PubChem is the world's largest collection of freely accessible chemical information. Search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. From the National Libraries of Medicine
Información de calidad y relevante de salud y bienestar que sea confiable, fácil de entender y sin publicidad en inglés y español.
Producido por la Biblioteca Nacional de Medicina de EE. UU.
NC Health Info tiene por objetivo ayudarlo a tomar decisiones informadas sobre atención médica. Aquí encontrará información confiable y fácil de comprender sobre diversos temas, incluidas afecciones, dónde encontrar opciones de tratamientos sin costo o de bajo costo y directorios de proveedores y servicios en Carolina del Norte. Todos los recursos fueron seleccionados cuidadosamente por bibliotecarios voluntarios.
The only nonprofit in North Carolina providing education, resources, and support to individuals, families, and professionals concerned with disordered eating and recovery from eating disorders.
Any MAHEC patient or employee can join walk. The first Saturday of every month, 2-3pm (weather permitting). See the website for more details and required waiver. Added 2/2023
The Federal Government’s lead agency for scientific research on the diverse medical and health care systems, practices, and products that are not generally considered part of conventional medicine
MyPlate is the current nutrition guide published by the USDA
FDA - Dietary Supplement Ingredient DirectoryTo help manufacturers, retailers, and consumers of dietary supplements stay informed about recent developments and locate information on FDA’s website quickly, we have put together an “ingredient directory” with links to FDA’s actions and communications with regard to particular dietary ingredients and other ingredients used in products marketed as dietary supplements.
Gender Spectrum is a national organization committed to the health and well-being of gender- diverse children and teens through education and support for families, and training and guidance for educators, medical and mental health providers, and other professionals.
Provides a centralized site for accessing resources on providing culturally responsive care to children, youth, young adults with diverse sexual orientation, gender identity, and gender expression (SOGIE) and their families across systems, including child welfare, juvenile justice, mental health (including school mental health), substance use systems, and housing and homelessness.
Nemours KidsHealth Provides articles, videos, animations, print publications, and health instructions have had billions of visits. Nemours KidsHealth is the most-viewed site for dependable information on children's health, behavior, and development from before birth through the teen years.
From Boston's Children's Hospital this is an award-winning health website for young women and members of gender minorities around the world. Here, you can find answers to your questions, health guides on a variety of topics, health chats, and more!
National Institute for Drug Abuse for teens - the trusted source for science-based information on teen drug use. From the Society for Adolescent Health and Medicine
From the Boston Children's Hospital this is a website for teen guys and young men featuring up-to-date health information. Here, you can find answers to your questions, health guides, & more!
NIA leads a broad scientific effort to understand the nature of aging and to extend the healthy, active, years of life. From the National Institutes of Health
