Contact: adl-questions@ncahec.libanswers.com
The AHEC Digital Library (ADL) is your portal to AHEC library services, information, and education. The ADL ensures that all providers in the state have high-quality health information readily available through a variety of membership categories, ranging from access to free resources to paid subscriptions. By using the ADL, you can get full-text journals, books, and electronic databases of the literature, as well as links to carefully evaluated health information websites and clinical and educational tools.
Please feel free to contact adl-questions@ncahec.libanswers.com to learn more about membership, resources, or to request help from a librarian.
The NC AHEC Information and Library System is one of the Core Service Lines of the NC AHEC Program. For more information about NC AHEC, please visit the website at https://www.ncahec.net/
This is a list of many of the journals, books and literature search tools (databases) in the ADL. Contact adl-questions@ncahec.libanswers.com if you have suggestions or feedback.
Welcome to the Nursing Guide
This guide brings together selected resources available to you via the NC AHEC Digital Library or freely on the web.
To see all journals in the AHEC Digital Library login and see Journals List.
Under Construction. To see all journals in the AHEC Digital Library login and see Journals List.
EBook Collections
Diagnosis
Delmar's Guide to Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests by
GUIDE TO LABORATORY AND DIAGNOSTIC TESTS: ORGANIZED ALPHABETICALLY, Third Edition, provides essential information on more than 600 lab and diagnostic tests within a single, convenient volume. This all-in-one resource presents detailed, accurate information in an accessible, easy-to-use format. Trusted by professionals in the fields of medicine, nursing, medical technology, and more, this clear, concise guide enables users to quickly access critical information on tests and procedures while maintaining a strong focus on patient care. Now updated to reflect the latest research, trends, and best practices, the new Third Edition is an ideal resource for students and professionals alike.
Nurse's Pocket Guide by
The perfect pocket guide This quick-reference tool has what you need to select the appropriate diagnosis to plan your patients' care effectively. The 15th Edition features all the latest nursing diagnoses and updated interventions
Sparks and Taylor's Nursing Diagnosis Reference Manual by
Thoroughly updated with the latest evidence-based information for nursing diagnoses, Sparks and Taylor's Nursing Diagnosis Reference Manual, 11th Edition, provides fast, efficient access to clearly written, comprehensive information about the NANDA-I Nursing Diagnoses to help nursing students and practicing nurses meet the healthcare needs of patients.Each of these 244 comprehensive monographs reflects the nursing process and the expertise of leading nursing clinicians, educators and researchers to instill clinical confidence in any care setting. Units are now alphabetically organized for easy reference. This edition adds 17 new nursing diagnoses, updated information for 72 nursing diagnoses and updated definitions and content meeting the 2018-2020 NANDA-I standards, as well as an updated feature highlighting interventions that meet the Quality and Safety Education for Nurses (QSEN) criteria for patient-centered care or safe practice. UPDATED! 2018-2020 NANDA-I diagnosis and standards, Nursing Interventions Classification (NIC) and Nursing Outcomes Classification (NOC) labels incorporated throughout reinforce clinical confidence and quality of care. NEW! 17 new diagnoses keep students on the cutting edge of nursing practice. UPDATED! QSENcompetency icons throughout reinforce important considerations for safe care. UPDATED! Alphabetical organization helps students find diagnosis information quickly and easily. Selected Nursing Diagnoses by Medical Diagnosis (Appendix I) delivers clearly written, authoritative care plans for every stage in the life cycle. Related Factors sections strengthen students' diagnostic capabilities. Quick Reference tables list diagnoses by life stages for access at a glance.
Nursing Procedures
Fundamental and Advanced Nursing Skills by
This fully revised, full-color edition equips nurses with the skills they need to survive and thrive in today's changing health care environment. Using a straight-forward approach, organized around the nursing process, the third edition of Fundamental & Advanced Nursing Skills provides a great resource. Nursing Skills, Third Edition provides a great resource for any nurse from the hospital to the home.
Lippincott Nursing Procedures by
This start-to-finish guide includes over 400 nursing procedures--from basic to advanced. Every entry lists equipment, details each step to perform right at the bedside, and provides rationales and cautions to ensure patient safety and positive outcomes. Organized alphabetically for fast, easy access, the 8 th Edition of Lippincott Nursing Procedures addresses what the nurse needs to know and do to perform best-practice procedures concerning infection control, specimen collection, physical assessment, drug administration, IV therapy, and hemodynamic monitoring, as well as procedures related to body systems, such as chest tube insertion, peripheral nerve stimulation, and intra-abdominal pressure monitoring. Thoroughly updated, this edition also includes new evidence-based entries on synchronized cardioversion, gait belt use, intermittent infusion device flushing and locking, isolation garb use, nasal bridal insertion and removal, pneumatic antishock garment application and removal, self-medication administration practice, and weaning a patient from a ventilator. With clear, step-by-step guidelines and hundreds of sidebars, photos, illustrations, and eye-catching alerts (Nursing Alerts, Pediatric, Elder, Hospital-Acquired Condition Alerts), you'll find the level of detail required to provide optimal hands-on patient care. Packed with pre- and postprocedure nursing considerations, warnings about potential complications, troubleshooting tips, and other helpful advice, this go-to reference provides everything you need to do your job confidently and well, whether you are beginning your nursing career, learning a new skill, or brushing up on a familiar technique.
Other
AACN Essentials of Critical Care Nursing, Second Edition by
via UNC-CH
The authoritative, evidence-based coverage you need to safely and competently care for adult, critically ill patients and their families - or prepare for the critical care nursing certification exam A Doody's Core Title ESSENTIAL PURCHASE for 2011 Endorsed by the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses and written by top clinical experts in acute care nursing, this textbook thoroughly covers all the need-to-know details on the care of adult, critically ill patients and their families. Supported by helpful tables and algorithms, the book's practical, building-block organization starts with the basics before proceeding to more complex concepts, paralleling the blueprint for the critical care nursing CCRN certification examination. "AACN Essentials of Critical Care Nursing" is divided into four logical sections, which, taken as a whole, will give you complete understanding of this challenging area of nursing practice: The Essentials - provides fundamental information that new clinicians must understand to provide safe, competent nursing care to all critically ill patients, regardless of their underlying medical diagnosis. Pathological Conditions - covers pathologic conditions and management strategies commonly encountered in all adult critical care units. Advanced Concepts in Caring for the Critically Ill Patient - presents advanced critical care concepts or pathologic conditions that are less common or more specialized than those generally found in adult critical care units. Key Reference Information - includes reference information that you will find helpful in a clinical environment, such as normal laboratory and diagnostic values, algorithms for advanced cardiac life support, and summary tables of critical care drugs and cardiac rhythms Each chapter begins with Knowledge Competencies that can be used to gauge your progress. This edition is compatible with ECCO (Essentials of Critical Care Orientation), the online program offered by the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses.
Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses by
Perfect for this student nurse!"Seriously, I love this book. It has already helped me ace 2 assignments! Definitely a must-have for student nurses."--Amy L., Online Student Reviewer SAFETY FIRST WITH 'CURE & CARE'! Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses®, Eighteenth Edition delivers everything you need to administer medications safely across the lifespan--643 well-organized monographs encompassing hundreds of generic drugs and thousands of trade names. Its nursing-focused Cure & Care' approach explains what the drug does and describes what the nurse does and how the nursing process relates to the pharmacotherapeutics. BONUS! FREE DIGITAL ACCESS An access code inside new, printed texts unlocks your one-year, FREE 1-year subscription to DrugGuide.com, Davis's Drug Guide Online, powered by Unbound Medicine, information on more than 5,000 trade names and generic drugs, as well as audio pronunciations and color photographs, all updated regularly. LIFE-SAVING GUIDANCE AT A GLANCE In-depth coverage of patient safety, red tab for high-alert medications, red, capitalized letters for life-threatening side effects, and REMS (Risk Evaluation and Mitigation Strategies) icon Special considerations for patient populations Icon highlighting pharmacogenomic content IV administration coverage Patient and family teaching guidance Canadian-specific content identified with a maple leaf icon FREE ONLINE LEARNING, CARE PLANNING & PATIENT EDUCATION TOOLS Audio Pronunciation Library of 1,200+ drug names Tutorials with self-tests, Preventing Medication Errors and Psychotropic Drugs Calculators for body mass index (BMI), metric conversions, IV drip rates, dosage/KG and Fahrenheit/Celsius. Interactive Case Studies, each followed by a series of questions Eight audio podcasts covering must-know information, concepts, and considerations for safe drug administration Video clips illustrating the safe administration of medications
Essentials for Nursing Practice by
Get a solid foundation in essential nursing principles, concepts, and skills! Essentials for Nursing Practice, 9th Edition combines everything you need from your fundamentals course and streamlines it into a format that''s perfect for busy nursing students. The ninth edition retains many classic features, including chapter case studies, procedural guidelines, and special considerations for various age groups, along with new content including a chapter on Complementary and Alternative Therapies, interactive clinical case studies on Evolve, a new Reflective Learning section, and QSEN activities to encourage active learning. Thoroughly reviewed by nursing clinical experts and educators, this new edition ensures you learn nursing Essentials with the most accurate, up-to-date, and easy-to-understand book on the market. Progressive case studies are introduced at the beginning of the chapter and are then used to tie together the care plan, concept map, and clinical decision-making exercises. Focused Patient Assessment tables include actual questions to help you learn how to effectively phrase questions to patients as well as target physical assessment techniques. Nursing skills at the end of each chapter feature full-bleed coloring on the edge of the page to make them easy to locate. Safety guidelines for nursing skills sections precede each skills section to help you focus on safe and effective skills performance. Detailed care plans in the text and on Evolve demonstrate the application of the 5-step nursing process to individual patient problems to help you understand how a plan is developed and how to evaluate care. Unexpected outcomes and related interventions for skills alert you to possible problems and appropriate nursing action. Patient Teaching boxes help you plan effective teaching by first identifying an outcome, then developing strategies on how to teach, and finally, implementing measures to evaluate learning. Care of the Older Adult boxes highlight key aspects of nursing assessment and care for this growing population. Key points neatly summarize the most important content for each chapter to help you review and evaluate learning. Evidence-Based Practice boxes include a PICO question, summary of the results of a research study, and a F description of how the study has affected nursing practice - in every chapter. Patient-Centered Care boxes address racial and ethnic diversity along with the cultural differences that impact socioeconomic status, values, geography, and religion. 65 Skills and procedural guidelines provide clear, step-by-step instructions for providing safe nursing care. 5-step nursing process provides a consistent framework for clinical chapters. Concept maps visually demonstrate planning care for patients with multiple diagnoses. NOC outcomes, NIC interventions, and NANDA diagnoses are incorporated in care plans to reflect the standard used by institutions nationwide. NEW! Chapter on Complementary, Alternative, and Integrative Therapies addresses new content now included on the NCLEX® exam. NEW! Clinical case studies guide you through creation of care plans and foster clinical thinking. NEW! UNIQUE! Reflective Learning section helps you better understand and reflect on your clinical and simulation experiences as you move through your first nursing course NEW! QSEN activities woven throughout help you process what you''ve learned and develop an eye for safety NEW! Updated standards and evidence throughout includes the newest INS and WOCN standards and mean you''ll be delivering the best care possible
Oxford Textbook of Palliative Nursing by
The Oxford Textbook of Palliative Nursing remains the most comprehensive treatise on the art and science of palliative care nursing available. Dr. Betty Rolling Ferrell and Dr. Judith A. Paice have invited 162 nursing experts to contribute 76 chapters addressing the physical, psychological,social, and spiritual needs pertinent to the successful palliative care team. Organized within 7 Sections, this new edition covers the gamut of principles of care: from the time of initial diagnosis of a serious illness to the end of a patient's life and beyond.This fifth edition features several new chapters, including chapters on advance care planning, organ donation, self-care, global palliative care, and the ethos of palliative nursing. Each chapter is rich with tables and figures, case examples for improved learning, and a strong evidence-basedpractice to support the highest quality of care. The book offers a valuable and practical resource for students and clinicians across all settings of care. The content is relevant for specialty hospice agencies and palliative care programs, as well as generalist knowledge for schools of nursing,oncology, critical care, and pediatric. Developed with the intention of emphasizing the need to extend palliative care beyond the specialty to be integrated in all settings and by all clinicians caring for the seriously ill, this new edition will continue to serve as the cornerstone of palliativecare education.
Pediatric Nursing : Caring for Children and Their Families by
PEDIATRIC NURSING: CARING FOR CHILDREN AND THEIR FAMILIES, third edition, offers a dynamic and insightful guide to caring for pediatric clients. The authors embrace a holistic, family-centered approach to the care and nurturing of children in all states of health, exploring healthy growth and development milestones, as well as illness states and chronic conditions. All nursing care is framed within a family context, underscoring the importance of viewing children not just as individuals, but as members of a family. General nursing skills such as assessment, communication, and health promotion are presented within the pediatric framework to help nurses approach children and their families with an authentic, informed understanding of their conditions and needs.
