Regional: Pharmacy Residency: Pharmacy Residency Resources

Welcome

Welcome to the Library Guide for

the Pharmacy Residency at MAHEC!

This guide is intended for residents and faculty. Others may find the content useful, but will not necessarily have access to all of the resources.

Drug Information and Other Recommended Resources

AHFS Drug Information (ADL) via Stat!Ref in the ADL. A premier evidence-based drug compendium. The mission of AHFS® DI™ is to provide an evidence-based foundation for safe and effective drug therapy.

DynaMed This link opens in a new window
MAHEC employees only. Evidence-based clinical information presented in a summary bullet list format. Also includes drug information, graphics & images, recommendations, and patient education. Here you will also find DynaMed Decisions for shared decision making.

Drug Interactions from the Medical Letter (ADL) A quick guide to potential interactions between pairs of drugs and provides recommendations for precautionary measures. Interacting pairs of drugs are listed alphabetically, followed by the main effect(s) and clinical significance of the interaction, management recommendations, the mechanism of the interaction, discussion of clinical and research data related to the interaction, description of how similar drugs may or may not interact, and a list of supporting references
Facts & Comparisons eAnswers
via UNC-CH (requires ONYEN)

PubMed (ADL) This link opens in a new window PubMed Medline via NC AHEC Digital Library
PubMed (HCA) This link opens in a new window Includes links to login with HCA 3/4 ID to check for full-text

AHFS Drug Information
via Stat!Ref in the ADL.
A premier evidence-based drug compendium. The mission of AHFS® DI™ is to provide an evidence-based foundation for safe and effective drug therapy.
ASHP Injectable Drug Information
via Stat!Ref in the ADL. A collection of compatibility and stability information on parenteral drug products.
DAVIS'S DRUG GUIDE FOR NURSES® - 18th Ed. (2023)

Drug Information from RxList This link opens in a new window
RxList
DynaMed This link opens in a new window
MAHEC employees only. Evidence-based clinical information presented in a summary bullet list format. Also includes drug information, graphics & images, recommendations, and patient education. Here you will also find DynaMed Decisions for shared decision making.

Facts & Comparisons eAnswers (ONYEN access only)
FDA - Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations | Orange Book
FDA - Orange Book: Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations
Hale's Medications & Mother's Milk (ADL access)
LiverTox; Clinical and Research Information on Drug-Induced Liver Injury
from the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases ".. this textbook. provides up-to-date... on the diagnosis, cause, frequency, clinical patterns and management of liver injury attributable to prescription and nonprescription medications and selected herbal and dietary supplements. "
Mosby's 2021 Nursing Drug Reference

Natural Medicines (formerly Natural Standard) This link opens in a new window
via UNC-CH. (access for MAHEC requires ONYEN) The most authoritative resource available on natural medicines, dietary supplements, alternative and integrative therapies.

Pharmacy (ADL Resources)
List of ADL Pharmacy eJournals, eBooks, organizations & associations, drug information and more

PubChem This link opens in a new window
from NIH. PubChem mostly contains small molecules, but also larger molecules such as nucleotides, carbohydrates, lipids, peptides, and chemically-modified macromolecules. We collect information on chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data, and many others.

Cancer Drug Interactions (No longer updated as of 2022)
NO LONGER UPDATED as of 2022. ARCHIVED information still available. Created by the Liverpool Drug Interaction Group, Department of Pharmacology at the University of Liverpool.
Covid-19 Drug Interactions
Created by the Liverpool Drug Interaction Group, Department of Pharmacology at the University of Liverpool.
Drug Interactions from the Medical Letter (ADL) A quick guide to potential interactions between pairs of drugs and provides recommendations for precautionary measures. Interacting pairs of drugs are listed alphabetically, followed by the main effect(s) and clinical significance of the interaction, management recommendations, the mechanism of the interaction, discussion of clinical and research data related to the interaction, description of how similar drugs may or may not interact, and a list of supporting references
Hep Drug Interactions
Created by the Liverpool Drug Interaction Group, Department of Pharmacology at the University of Liverpool.
HIV Drug Interactions
Created by the Liverpool Drug Interaction Group, Department of Pharmacology at the University of Liverpool. In Spanish & English.

CINAHL
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) is an index of English-language and selected other-language journal articles about nursing, allied health, biomedicine and healthcare.

DynaMed This link opens in a new window
MAHEC employees only. Evidence-based clinical information presented in a summary bullet list format. Also includes drug information, graphics & images, recommendations, and patient education. Here you will also find DynaMed Decisions for shared decision making.
ECRI Guidelines Trust (free registration required) This link opens in a new window
ECRI Institute makes clinical practice guidelines accessible via their free ECRI Guidelines Trust (register for free access at the site). ECRI has specific inclusion criteria, gives each guideline a TRUST Scorecard, and includes a guideline brief.

Essential Evidence Plus
via ADL. See the left hand menu for navigation to Essential Evidence Topics, Calculators, and POEMs.
more...less...
Essential Evidence Plus is a powerful, comprehensive clinical decision support system that integrates information on 9,000 diagnoses into healthcare professionals' clinical workflows. This clinical tool, created by an international team of renowned medical experts, was developed for physicians, nurses, and other healthcare professionals on the front line of patient care.
NIH National Cancer Institute
Free online. Latest on treatment, causes and prevention, screening, and the latest research on different types of cancer. For Healthcare Professionals & consumers.
PubMed Clinical Queries
Free online. Access to full-text will vary. Quickly filter PubMed searches to studies, Systematic Reviews, and medical genetics

TRIP Database This link opens in a new window
Trip Database Ltd. Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.

CINAHL This link opens in a new window
via NCAHEC (ADL)
PubMed (ADL) This link opens in a new window
PubMed Medline via NC AHEC Digital Library
PubMed (HCA) This link opens in a new window
Includes links to login with HCA 3/4 ID to check for full-text
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews - EBM Reviews This link opens in a new window

LiverTox; Clinical and Research Information on Drug-Induced Liver Injury
from the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases ".. this textbook. provides up-to-date... on the diagnosis, cause, frequency, clinical patterns and management of liver injury attributable to prescription and nonprescription medications and selected herbal and dietary supplements. "

eJournals

Journals, by title (ADL Membership Required)

American Journal of Health System Pharmacy
(Full text available: 2002 - present (embargo: 12m))

American Journal of Therapeutics
(Full text available: 2001 - 2007)

Anti-Cancer Drugs
(Full text available: 2001 - 2007)

Clinical Neuropharmacology
(Full text available: 2001 - 2007)

Community Pharmacy
(Full text available: 2002 - 2006)

Drug Development & Industrial Pharmacy
(Full text available: 1999 - present (embargo: 18m))

Drug Store News
(Full text available: 1995 - 2002)

Drug Topics
(Full text available: 2005 - present)

FDA Consumer
(Full text available: 1998 - 2007)

Formulary
(Full text available: 2006 - 2013)

Journal of Biopharmaceutical Statistics
(Full text available: 1999 - present (embargo: 15m))

Journal of Cardiovascular Pharmacology
(Full text available: 2001 - 2015)

Journal of Clinical Psychopharmacology
(Full text available: 1995 - present)

Journal of Occupational & Environmental Medicine
(Full text available: 1996 - present)

Pharmaceutical Executive
(Full text available: 1998 - present)

Pharmaceutical Technology
(Full text available: 2003 - present)

Breastfeeding & Lactation

ACOG Committee Opinions on Breastfeeding or Lactation
Hale's Medications & Mother's Milk (ADL access)
Drug and Lactation Database (LactMed)
Research center on medication safety during pregnancy and breastfeeding.
Infant Risk Center
Clinical Protocols - UNC Lactation Program
"The UNC Lactation Program is continuously evaluating and updating our management protocols. Our current protocols, posted on this site, reflect our interdisciplinary team’s consensus on the limited literature on management of breastfeeding-associated pain."

Patient Education (English & other languages)

DailyMed
This database includes labeling submitted to the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) by companies. It does not contain a complete listing of labeling for FDA-regulated products (e.g., labeling that is not submitted to the FDA).. There is an Advanced and Drug Class Search option. Also, a Labeling Archives that allows the user to retrieve the label current for a given date. By default, only archived labels for this year are returned.
MedlinePlus: Drugs, Herbs, & Supplements
Health Information in Multiple Languages - Medline Plus
Browse health information in over 50 languages

Complementary and Integrative Health (includes Herbs, Supplements)

About Herbs Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center’s About Herbs database, a tool for the public as well as healthcare professionals, can help you figure out the value of using common herbs and other dietary supplements.
FDA - Dietary Supplement Ingredient Directory To help manufacturers, retailers, and consumers of dietary supplements stay informed about recent developments and locate information on FDA’s website quickly, we have put together an “ingredient directory” with links to FDA’s actions and communications with regard to particular dietary ingredients and other ingredients used in products marketed as dietary supplements.
NCCIH - Evidence-Based Medicine: Literature Reviews Run pre-created search strategies in PubMed to see if there is any scientific evidence that this complementary product or practice works and is safe? The resources on this page will help inform you about what the science says (limited to the past 5 years).
NCCIH - Health Topics A to Z Evidence-based information to share
NCCIH - Herbs at a Glance from National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH) series of brief fact sheets that provides basic information about specific herbs or botanicals—common names, what the science says, potential side effects and cautions, and resources for more information.
NCCIH - HerbsList App NCCIH's app for research-based information about the safety and effectiveness of herbal products.
NIH ODS - Dictionary of Dietary Supplement Terms
NIH ODS - Dietary Supplement Fact Sheets
NIH ODS - Dietary Supplement Label Database The National Institutes of Health's Dietary Supplement Label Database (DSLD) includes current and historical label information from products marketed in the U.S.
NIH ODS - Information for Health Professionals from National Institutes of Medicine - Office of Dietary Supplements. Easy access to up-to-date, evidence-based information from ODS and other sources that will help you discuss dietary supplements with your patients, clients, colleagues, and students.

Essential Evidence Plus & AHFS DI Essentials This link opens in a new window Essential Evidence Plus is a powerful, comprehensive clinical decision support system that integrates information on 9,000 diagnoses into healthcare professionals' clinical workflows. This clinical tool, created by an international team of renowned medical experts, was developed for physicians, nurses, and other healthcare professionals on the front line of patient care.

340B Pricing Program

340B: University & Education Library
From 340B Prime Vendor Program .Enroll as a non-covered entity to view on-demand videos and webinars.
340B Drug Pricing Program
from HRSA
Sign up for HRSA Updates including 340B Drug Pricing Program

Library Orientation

2024 Library Resources Orientation
Overview of the AHEC Digital Library & other resources

Pharmacy Residency

Clinical & Research Librarian

Suggest an eResource

AHEC Digital Library (side column)

AHEC Digital Library

Request ADL Membership

Library Pages

Welcome

Welcome to the Library Guide for

the Pharmacy Residency at MAHEC!

This guide is intended for residents and faculty. Others may find the content useful, but will not necessarily have access to all of the resources.

Drug Information and Other Recommended Resources

eJournals

Breastfeeding & Lactation

Patient Education (English & other languages)

Complementary and Integrative Health (includes Herbs, Supplements)

340B Pricing Program

Library Orientation