Regional: Family Medicine Residencies: Core Resources in Family Medicine

NOTE: Some links on our online Subject Guides are undergoing updates. If you need assistance with finding information, please use the Library Services forms or email us at library@mahec.net. You can also search for resources on the AHEC Digital Library.

Welcome

Welcome to the Library Guide for

Family Medicine Residencies at MAHEC!

This guide is intended for residents and faculty. Others may find the content useful, but will not necessarily have access to all of the resources.

Core Resources in Family Medicine

DynaMed
MAHEC employees only. Evidence-based clinical information presented in a summary bullet list format. Also includes drug information, graphics & images, recommendations, and patient education. Here you will also find DynaMed Decisions for shared decision making.
DynaMed Decisions
MAHEC employees only. Click the DynaMed Decisions tab to the right of DynaMed tab (top left of page). This is a clinical decision support solution designed to enhance shared decision-making. Provides interactive tools to help clinicians and patients make the best health decisions based on evidence in the context of an individual’s risks, comorbidities, values, and preferences. Included are calculators and shared-decision-making tools.

EBSCO eBook collection
Stat!Ref Collection of Resources
Includes robust collection of clinical eBooks, Essential Evidence Plus, medical dictionary, ICD-10 conversion tools, Board Vitals and more

Graduate Medical Education in Family Medicine by Rick Kellerman (Editor); Gretchen Irwin (Editor)
Call Number: MAHEC Only Access

ISBN: 9783031707407

Publication Date: 2025-03-30

Textbook of Neonatal Resuscitation,/b> by American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP); American Heart Association; Gary M. Weiner (Editor); Jeanette Zaichkin (Associate Editor)

ISBN: 9781610025249

Publication Date: 2021

New 8th Edition. Request Username & Password from library or directly search for the title in the AHEC Digital Library (ADL) http://library.ncahec.net

Libro de Texto Sobre Reanimación Neonatal by American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP); American Heart Association; Gary M. Weiner (Editor); Jeanette Zaichkin (Associate Editor)

ISBN: 9781610025263

Publication Date: 2022

New 8th Edition. Request Username & Password from library or directly search for the title in the AHEC Digital Library (ADL) http://library.ncahec.net This is the Spanish translation of the Textbook of Neonatal Resuscitation, 8th edition.

Selected Resources

Point-of-Care

Medical Databases

Drug Information

DynaMed
MAHEC employees only. Evidence-based clinical information presented in a summary bullet list format. Also includes drug information, graphics & images, recommendations, and patient education. Here you will also find DynaMed Decisions for shared decision making.

DynaMed Decisions
MAHEC employees only. Click the DynaMed Decisions tab to the right of DynaMed tab (top left of page). This is a clinical decision support solution designed to enhance shared decision-making. Provides interactive tools to help clinicians and patients make the best health decisions based on evidence in the context of an individual’s risks, comorbidities, values, and preferences. Included are calculators and shared-decision-making tools.

Essential Evidence Plus
Freely available to North Carolinian Healthcare Providers.

more... less...

Essential Evidence Plus is a powerful, comprehensive clinical decision support system that integrates information on 9,000 diagnoses into healthcare professionals' clinical workflows. This clinical tool, created by an international team of renowned medical experts, was developed for physicians, nurses, and other healthcare professionals on the front line of patient care.

ECRI Guidelines Trust
ECRI Institute makes clinical practice guidelines in various clinical specialties accessible via their free ECRI Guidelines Trust. ECRI has specific inclusion criteria, gives each guideline a TRUST Scorecard, and includes a guideline brief.

NIH National Cancer Institute
Free online. Latest on treatment, causes and prevention, screening, and the latest research on different types of cancer. For Healthcare Professionals & consumers.

PubMed (ADL)
PubMed Medline via NC AHEC Digital Library

PubMed (HCA)
Includes links to login with HCA 3/4 ID to check for full-text

PubMed Clinical Queries
Free online. Access to full-text will vary. Quickly filter PubMed searches to studies, Systematic Reviews, and medical genetics

CINAHL

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) is an index of English-language and selected other-language journal articles about nursing, allied health, biomedicine and healthcare.

Access ObGyn
MAHEC employees only. This portal from McGraw-Hill includes obstetrics and gynecology eBooks including Williams Obstetrics or Williams Gynecology, growing list of Williams animations, clerkship and board review resources, videos and cases, drug information and more.

DermDiag from DermNet
The DermDiag Tool is designed to help you understand your skin condition. This tool does not provide medical advice. To get started, select the part of the body where you are experiencing symptoms.

DermNet - Skin Conditions
DermNet features a database of thousands of pages covering almost every known skin condition. Content is written by medical professionals and reviewed by dermatologists before being published.

DermNet - Image Library
The watermarked images are free for use for education, teaching and other purposes, providing they abide by image licence. Please retain the watermark and acknowledge the source, DermNet. Non-watermarked, high-definition images are available for purchase.

AHFS Drug Information
via Stat!Ref in the ADL.
A premier evidence-based drug compendium. The mission of AHFS® DI™ is to provide an evidence-based foundation for safe and effective drug therapy.

Drug Information from RxList
RxList

PubChem
from NIH. PubChem mostly contains small molecules, but also larger molecules such as nucleotides, carbohydrates, lipids, peptides, and chemically-modified macromolecules. We collect information on chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data, and many others.

DynaMed
MAHEC employees only. Evidence-based clinical information presented in a summary bullet list format. Also includes drug information, graphics & images, recommendations, and patient education. Here you will also find DynaMed Decisions for shared decision making.

Facts & Comparisons eAnswers (ONYEN access only)

LIbrary Orientation

2025 Library Resources Orientation
Overview of the AHEC Digital Library & other resources

Next: Journals >>

Family Medicine Residencies

Clinical & Research Librarian

Contact Us!

Email: library@mahec.net
Phone: (828) 257-4444

Article Request

Search Request

Suggest an eResource

AHEC Digital Library (side column)

AHEC Digital Library

Request ADL Membership

Library Pages

Welcome

Welcome to the Library Guide for

Family Medicine Residencies at MAHEC!

This guide is intended for residents and faculty. Others may find the content useful, but will not necessarily have access to all of the resources.

Core Resources in Family Medicine

Selected Resources

LIbrary Orientation

Family Medicine Residencies

Email: library@mahec.net Phone: (828) 257-4444

Article Request

Search Request

AHEC Digital Library

Request ADL Membership

Welcome

Welcome to the Library Guide for

Family Medicine Residencies at MAHEC!

This guide is intended for residents and faculty. Others may find the content useful, but will not necessarily have access to all of the resources.

Core Resources in Family Medicine

Selected Resources

LIbrary Orientation

Email: library@mahec.net
Phone: (828) 257-4444