Regional: Scholarly Activity Toolkit: Online Training (CME, CE)

Online Training Resources

On this page, you'll find a collection of online training and continuing education resources. Some are freely available, while others require an AHEC Digital Library account or UNC-Chapel Hill Onyen to access.

If you have any feedback, suggestions for new material, or questions about the content of this page, please email us at library@mahec.net.

Clinical Videos and Review Material

Bates Visual Guide to Physical Examinations
ADL via UNC-CH
Access Medicine Study Tools
via UNC-CH
See the Study Tools tab

American Thoracic Society Procedure Videos
Free online. Some videos from NEJM
APA resources to support distance learning
American Psychological Association: APA Publishing is making a variety of resources freely available, including the following: *Free use of PsychLearn products with students at no cost in summer-term classes. *Free access to relevant psychological research published across the APA Journals portfolio
JN Learning
from JAMA Network. Anyone can learn via their podcasts, courses, and videos at no cost. To earn: CME Program Eligibility physician subscribers to any JAMA Network journal are eligible for the JN Learning CME program. As a benefit of membership, AMA members are also eligible for CME offered as part of the JN Learning program, which encompasses CME quizzes from all JAMA Network journals.
JoVe: Clinical Skills > Physical Examinations
via UNC-CH. This collection is a specialized edition featuring methodologies and procedures associated with more sensitive and comprehensive physical exams such as HEENT exams, abdominal exams, and pelvic exams.
JoVE: Science Education
via UNC-CH. A revolutionary video library dedicated to teaching scientific fundamentals through simple easy-to-understand video demonstrations
NEJM Resident 360
registration required
Online "Board Review" books from UNC-CH Catalog
EBooks selection from the UNC-CH HSL catalog.
Psychotherapy.net
Watch videos of therapists in session, discussing the nuances of their work, and teaching you. This resource is available to PGY-2s of the psychiatry residency. Please contact the Psychiatry Program Administrator for details.

CE/CME

DynaMed CE (MAHEC Only)
Physicians and nurse practitioners using DynaMed to inform and support their clinical decisions are eligible to earn continuing medical education (CME) credits and continuing education (CE) contact hours, respectively, for this internet point of care (PoC) activity.
JN Learning
from JAMA Network. Anyone can learn via their podcasts, courses, and videos at no cost. To earn: CME Program Eligibility physician subscribers to any JAMA Network journal are eligible for the JN Learning CME program. As a benefit of membership, AMA members are also eligible for CME offered as part of the JN Learning program, which encompasses CME quizzes from all JAMA Network journals.
MedPix
MedPix® is a free online database of medical images, teaching cases, and clinical topics, integrating images and textual metadata including thousands of patient case scenarios, topics, and images. Not all are free-to-reuse. Check for license requirements.
Earning CME/CE/CPD with UpToDate
UpToDate via UNC-CH

DynaMed offers CME including Point of Care credit. You’ll need to sign up for a personal account to earn CME. There’s also a DynaMed app.

NC AHEC Continuing Education Resources
A variety of healthcare organizations, systems, and sites offering CE/CME. From the NC AHEC Digital Library

COVID-19 Specific Learning

CDC - COVID-19 Main Index Page
Coronavirus Free Access Resource Center (Videos)
Primarily video content from JoVE Journal.
COVID19 for Health Care Professionals
page of resources from Health Sciences Library at UNC-CH. Includes: Webinars and Education (at the bottom of page); Evidence-Based Practice and Clinical Guidance; Diagnosis and Management; Latest Research Articles.
more...less...
Some resources only accessible to UNC-CH employees.
Global research on coronavirus disease (COVID-19)
Database from the WHO
LitCovid (LC)
A literature hub for tracking up-to-date scientific information about the 2019 novel Coronavirus. It provides central access relevant articles in PubMed. Updated daily and categorized by different research topics (e.g. transmission) and geographic locations. See the FAQs on details about the process.
MAHEC COVID19
COVID19 page from MAHEC, links to Buncombe County health department
SCCM COVID19 Critical Care for the Non-ICU Clinician
The Society of Critical Care Medicine (SCCM) is providing free education to inform, prepare, and equip ICU and other healthcare clinicians during the COVID-19 pandemic. Educational materials will be updated on this site as they become available.

Clinical Resources by Specialty

Access Anesthesiology
via UNC-CH
Access Cardiology
via UNC-CH
Access Emergency
via UNC-CH
Access HemOnc
via UNC-CH
Access Neurology
via UNC-CH
Access ObGyn
via UNC-CH
Access Pediatrics
via UNC-CH
Access Pharmacy
via UNC-CH
Access Physiotherapy
via UNC-CH
Access Surgery
via UNC-CH

USMLE

First Aid for the USMLE Step 3, Fifth Edition by Tao Le; Vikas Bhushan
ISBN: 1260440311
Publication Date: 2018-12-10
Via UNC-CH catalog. The resident's trusted, one-stop guide to acing the USMLE® Step 3 - co-written by residents who recently took the exam and know what it takes to pass STRONG FOCUS ON TEST-RELEVANT MATERIAL MAXIMIZES YOUR STUDY TIME!

Scholarly Activity Toolkit

MAHEC Continuing Education

AHEC Digital Library

AHEC Digital Library

Request ADL Membership

Contact Us

Email: library@mahec.net
Phone: (828) 257-4444

Article Request

Search Request

Database Tutorials

Online Training Resources

On this page, you'll find a collection of online training and continuing education resources. Some are freely available, while others require an AHEC Digital Library account or UNC-Chapel Hill Onyen to access.

If you have any feedback, suggestions for new material, or questions about the content of this page, please email us at library@mahec.net.

Clinical Videos and Review Material

CE/CME

COVID-19 Specific Learning

Clinical Resources by Specialty

USMLE

Scholarly Activity Toolkit

AHEC Digital Library

Request ADL Membership

Email: library@mahec.net Phone: (828) 257-4444

Article Request

Search Request

Online Training Resources

On this page, you'll find a collection of online training and continuing education resources. Some are freely available, while others require an AHEC Digital Library account or UNC-Chapel Hill Onyen to access.

If you have any feedback, suggestions for new material, or questions about the content of this page, please email us at library@mahec.net.

Clinical Videos and Review Material

CE/CME

COVID-19 Specific Learning

Clinical Resources by Specialty

USMLE

Email: library@mahec.net
Phone: (828) 257-4444